Makin’ Bacon

I prepared 7 pounds of bacon yesterday.  To feed 8 people!  Okay, in all honesty I shared some bacon-wrapped pork loin with our neighbor too. 

Last night, our school (Worthington Christian School) had our annual Hostess Supper.  Every mom invites guests, does a table setting and then either brings the foods or assigns certain menu items to guests. 

I borrowed the pig head from a friend.


I figured as long as we have to do it, I may as well make it fun.  It all began with a bacon shirt.

Just let me know if you want to borrow this shirt!


And then just bacon in every entree. 

We had smoked, bacon-wrapped pork loin, twice-baked potatoes (love the pioneer woman for recipes like that), bacon-wrapped asparagus spears, bacon-cheddar rolls (forced me into bread-baking this year!), spinach salad with lots of toppings.  I served an appetizer called bacon crack that was just a crescent roll base with brown sugar, maple syrup and partially cooked bacon put in the oven for 20 minutes.  For dessert, I made creme brûlée (thankful for autocorrect) with a piece of bacon stuck in it. 

One of the tricks is to keep food warm. The asparagus came out of the oven and into the crockpot.



Most of the entrees turned out great!  And we didn’t set off the smoke alarm that was only 5 feet away when we carmelized the sugar for the dessert. 

I hope you are inspired to make something fun  and different for your family.  It’s so easy to get stuck in a rut!

If you need a link for a recipe, just let me know. 

Leave a Reply

