Date Night Drought

Last weekend, Joe and I snuck away to a town 30 miles from home for a DATE NIGHT!!  The excitement was so high that all caps are needed. 

Sterling’s in Luverne


We had been in a drought — well, as far as dates go.  We had been to a local vineyard the week before silage harvesting started in August…but nothing since then.  All told, Joe hasn’t eaten lunch or dinner at home (other than on Sunday’s) maybe 10 times in the last 3 months!  

When we remodeled our kitchen 13 years ago, our cabinet-maker informed me that he goes on a date absolutely every Friday night with his wife.  Their tradition has upheld for decades — she balances the checkbook in the time when she would normally be preparing food, and then they go out to eat and catch up on things.  His story has always stuck with me. 

While we don’t go that often, it is SO important to take time to remember the reasons why dating was such fun when we were first getting to know each other.  Last weekend, we laughed, had meaningful conversations and, most noteworthy, didn’t cut up anybody’s food for them.  

I always appreciate my kiddos much more after some time away.  When I tried to quietly go down the steps the next morning for some peaceful reading time alone, Violet heard me. She jumped up in her crib and shouted, “I wanna hold you.” I couldn’t turn that down!

So, go on a date!  Pour some kindness into your relationships!  Have a great weekend.  

2 thoughts on “Date Night Drought

  1. Since you have a beautiful daughter with a bpi, I was wondering if you had heard about ubpnCamp. This year we are in Daniels, WV at the Resort at Glade Springs. You can learn about Camp from our website ubpn.org. I think you, your family and Ava could get a lot of being around other people who deal with bpi everyday.

    Feel free to call me with questions, 516.317.4343 I am one of the co-directors of ubpnCamp2017

Leave a Reply

