Do I have to?

I will admit it.  I used to think I couldn’t possibly be that type of person but as I am now in my mid 30’s, it is undeniable.  I am a homebody.

Joe is not. He insists there is so much to be learned from traveling.  I know he is right. I do love to travel, and the memories we make, but I still prefer to stay home.

 

We received our “tickle machine” that intensifies the nerve signal from her brain to her muscles. She has been an absolute trooper!

When we returned from our family vacation to and from Cincinnati, I was just full of joy and energy to be home.   I really like the open space and LOVE the sunsets.  Downtown Chicago once every five years is often enough for me.


We are on Day 2 of schools closed due to the Groundhog Day Blizzard.  Two major US Highways and the interstate that intersect here in Worthington, Minneosta closed.  I LOVE IT!!  Yesterday was a page out of the book that I thought being a stay-at-home mom was. Making crafts, painting trim, watching the fire, and guiding the kids as they made supper for us.


But getting back to the whole “Joe likes to travel thing”.   He insists we get away for at least 4 days between babies. (This is NOT to promise you that we are having more babies.) So, 15 months ago when he convinced a salesman for our Claas Silage harvester (see post Hay in a Day) to throw in a trip to see their factories in Germany, he had to tell them that we would need a rain check on it.  He knew that pigs would fly before I left a 4 month old baby for more than 4 hours, let alone a whole week.

Fast forward one year. Now, the trip is coming fast.  2.5 weeks until we depart for Atlanta and then to Düsseldorf. I think I may need to pack Violet.   And Ava. And Liv.  Okay, fine I’ll take Vince too.  Just kidding.

We just received coats from FedEx this morning.   The USPS has their motto of getting it done despite the weather, but FedEx showed them up this time. Stay safe, stay warm, and trust me when I promise that my little ones are going to be snuggled extra in the next few weeks!

3 thoughts on “Do I have to?

  1. Go. Have a good time. Leave the kids at home. Be a couple. My theory is this… my kids will be employees some day. They need to learn how to respect and listen to someone else (another adult, a boss, a manager, etc.) in authority besides mom and dad. And, if they plan to have a job as a teenager… well, they need to know sooner rather than later. And, for them, it’s a whole new adventure. Another experience to spend the night at someone else’s house. I LOVE hearing what they have learned and seeing how others live. Therefore, leave them, tell them to “mind their p’s and q’s” and know that later in life they will be better off and have a few more experiences under their belt than the next kid… urrr, employee!
    PS – My boys are still sharing their memories from their last big sleepover – when I was in the hospital when April was born! It makes me smile. And, they stayed with some dairy farmer friends, so they learned more about ag and another good way to dairy farm.

  2. Have a wonderful time and don’t allow yourself a single moment to feel guilty. Caregivers have to remember to take care of the caregivers. God bless you and we’ll be praying for you..
    P.S. And follow Michele Schroeder’s excellent thinking!

Leave a Reply

