How ’bout those apples?: Worthington’s Bountiful Baskets

Is there anything so cute as a little girl with a box apples?  Nope!

IMG_8296

 

We recently started participating in Worthington’s Bountiful Baskets Program.  I was curious and wanted to see what the buzz was all about.  Plus, I’m a huge fan of fresh produce.  On this farm, we are certain of the importance of eating healthy and just love to have fruits and vegetables filling up our fridge.  I would be remiss  if I didn’t mention here that 3-a-Day of Dairy (3 servings of milk, cheese or yogurt) is absolutely essential to your good health as well!

Interested?  To check if there is one in your area, go to bountifulbaskets.org.  If you are from the Worthington area, I’d recommend joining the Worthington, MN Produce Group on Facebook.  Here’s the scoop:

 

1.  Is it a good deal?  Yes, I think so.  The first time we participated, for $15, we brought home 4 avocados, 2 sweet potatoes, 15 red potatoes, 4 small pomegranates, 4 orange peppers, 1 watermelon, 4 zucchini, 6 bananas, 1 cabbage, 4 apples, 4 cucumbers, and blackberries.  The photo below is last time’s basket:

IMG_8300

Okay, well, I didn’t want to bruise anything so I quickly took a photo of our things in 2 laundry baskets. I should work on my presentation skills…

2.  How will I know what I am going to get?  You won’t.  Every time, it’s half fruits and half veggies.  If your family only wants to eat the exact same thing each and every week, it’s not for you.  However, if you are always searching for ideas of what to serve your family for supper, this will help a ton.  Interesting items I’ve received thus far include fennel and swiss chard.  Definitely out of my comfort zone, but good!

3.  Can I justify stopping what I’m doing on a Saturday to pick up my stuff?  That’s a tough call, I guess.  When my kids were little and I was with them Every Single Second (!), each day was the same.  Now, that some of them are in school, I really value our weekends together.  So, my first thought was “No, I can’t interrupt our Saturday with this”.  Then, I recalled a similar program my mom participated in when I was a girl and the anticipation of a trip to town to pick up a surprise.  I KNEW this would be a hit with my 6-year-old.  It really has been a special time for her:  always wanting to carry the food, making a list of everything when we get home, and planning meals and snacks around our produce.

4.  Wait…what about that huge box of apples?  There’s this thing called “add-ons”.  Each time, they have other options of things you can buy in addition to the baskets.  Last time, I bought a 40 pound box of apples for $31.  The variety is Junami and they are a fantastic eating apple.  Last time, we also bought a bunch of pineapples…I believe the price worked out to about $1.50 each.  Getting these large quantities makes it much more worthwhile for this farmer to drive to town.  Apple slices are a huge hit for the 20 kids to share in preschool, and I’ve been using pineapple to trade for babysitting services!  I think the rest will soon meet my freezer.IMG_8299

5.  When is it coming next?   There are locations all over the U.S., but here in Worthington, you need to go online some time between Monday noon and Tuesday at 10:00 p.m. the week before you pick up.  So, right now!  Pickup starts at 4:45 p.m. at W-2’s on Saturday and most people have their basket in hand within 5 minutes of showing up.

IMG_4977

See, even Joe likes to ‘garden’.

All this talk about good things to eat makes me excited for winter to be over, and spring to come along with our own garden.  I don’t think it is a coincidence that all the seed companies like Gurney’s are trying to fill up my mailbox on these cold days and make me dream of warmer months ahead.  Let me assure you, Joe has all his seed ordered.  Keep warm, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

