From Ocheda Dairy to Northern Ireland

***update 4/01/2016.  We have no transponders left for sale. 

I have recently become famous at our local post office; I’m known as the crazy lady from that dairy farm bringing all those boxes.  I walk in and they ask me how many custom forms I need.

Going back to a post from months ago, we switched from using transponders (to identify cows as they enter the milking parlor) to RFID.  As with any technology, what was once very expensive considerably drops in value.  In this case, in our region, from about $60 down to $3.  However, they are still valuable in other areas.  So, I’ve acquired a new part-time position as transponder saleslady.  One man’s junk is another man’s treasure.

146

Just sitting in a snowbank…

After posting them for sale, I received many emails that resulted in sales.  Some to Pennsylvania to a guy with a handle of drdelaval (kinda clever), some to a dairy an hour away from here that my sister-in-law actually stops in on for  her job, and lastly, to somebody in Florida who wanted them to use on his dairy in Ecuador.  I have received many emails that I have been unable to decipher as they are written in another language, and the only word I can make out is DeLaval.

149

My packing department: heated shop!

About 2 months ago, I received an email written in English from Albert in Ireland.  He wanted transponders ASAP.  A thousand of them.  I checked into the logistics with the post office and discovered it would be $5 each to mail them.  I didn’t have 1000 left to sell, but I told him I’d send 2 boxes with 30 each if he was willing to pay that much postage.  When I received payment via PayPal, I’d send more.

 

150

This is part of the customs form that has to be filled out with each box, and then affixed to the side. A box of 30 transponders, weighing about 1 pound each, costs about $150 to send.

Well, he paid immediately so I sent 166 more.  Paid again.  Today, I shipped out 123.  Each box is wrapped with half a roll of shipping tape, and I’ve been reusing boxes from my in-law’s clothing store.  Each of the 11 boxes has required a customs form, and I laugh to think of someone in a nice office opening these smelly boxes to discover a cow strap with a weird blue computer ID on it.  How disappointing.

I think I have about 100 left and that will end this post office craziness.  I just realized today that if you do a google search for “DeLaval Transponder” that my blog is the first hit.  Who knew of the popularity that could come from recycling farm stuff?

 

2 thoughts on “From Ocheda Dairy to Northern Ireland

Leave a Reply

