Finally, a smartphone

Earlier this week, I bought my first smart-phone.  I had been using the same flip phone for about 7 years.

IMG_5543

They didn’t want to give me any money to trade this in, I guess.

Why I waited so long:

1.  It took 2 trips to the store and a total of 3 hours to get a new phone.  I figured it would be like that.

2.  Joe has NEVER (up until this month) been able to go 2 years without ruining his phone.  Skidloader oil pans, the creek that runs through our pasture, manure flumes, you name it.  We have used the trick of taking a wet phone apart and putting it in a bag of rice overnight (it really does work!) but Joe’s destruction of phones still kept up a fast pace.  So, he was always getting a new phone for himself when my contract was up.  So expensive without a contract renewal.

3.  I didn’t want to be one of THOSE moms.  You know, the type that isn’t even noticing what her kids are doing because her eyes are glued to her phone.  Or worse, when the kids are so mesmerized by the phone that they don’t see the world around them.  When we were at the baggage claim at LAX last summer, there were oodles of kids everywhere sitting in a stroller staring at some movie, totally missing out on the guessing game of what suitcase will come out on the baggage belt next.  That is tragic in my opinion.

IMG_5534

The iPhone5. With a fuchsia otterbox.

There were so many phones to choose from, but I decided to get an iPhone because we have a iPad, so it should be easier to get the hang of and there are some advantages with syncing stuff.

The biggest advantage for me will be ease of texting.  I should hopefully be able to get a 3 sentence text out in less than 5 minutes now.  I’m just trying to keep up with these younger folk.  Also, the navigation with maps on Joe’s phone has always been handy when we are together.  I did get an app for a shopping list and am looking forward to that.  I’m sure there will be a million other advantages as I learn my way around.  I would love to learn what your favorite little known app is.

As far as farming goes, we will see how handy it is.  Joe uses a flashlight on his phone often.  I need to look into that.  Getting back to my last post, the technology will soon be there to use the smartphone with the cow’s tag to access all her milking and reproductive data.  We have the technology on our iPad to remotely watch planting or harvesting in a field in real time, so that is possibly an option as well.  Maybe it will cut down on the number of times I bring meals to the wrong farmers in the wrong field or need to call for directions for which exact driveway on which part of which farm……

One final fun feature:  No longer will I receive a text from Verizon saying that somebody sent me a photo or video and I need an internet connection, a password and 20 minutes of my time to access it.

Time flies by so fast, technology is always changing, and I’m just a busy mom trying to keep up with all of it.  Maybe with my smartphone, I’ll be smarter and more efficient in the future.  Where have the last two years gone?

100_4548

March 19, 2011

IMG_5528

July 16, 2013

11 thoughts on “Finally, a smartphone

  1. Welcome to the world of smartphones, Rita! I think you will love it! My favorite app is CamMe. It’s a timer for your camera so you can be in the picture wth your family! It’s free too. I’m looking forward to your next video blog done via your iPhone!

    Like

  2. I want to upgrade to smart phones but chris wont. I know it would help his business. I have a kindle fire and love it more then my lap top. chris wants to throw them away.

    Like

  3. Rita, I really love Fooducate. I use it a lot at the grocery store when I’m shopping. It’s surprising to see the actual grades given for foods that I thought weren’t too bad but actually are!! Also the scanning of items is soooo easy 🙂

    Like

  4. Most of my texting is done by pressing the microphone button on the texting keyboard. Press the button and it does the typing for me. Much faster, just check the message before sending since the auto correct can be pretty hilarious sometimes.

    Like

    • The lady at the cell phone store showed me how to do it, and it seems so nice. So I voice texted (?) Joe yesterday to tell him I was on the road and “just leaving Worthington”. It auto-corrected to “just leaving Ruttingten”, but I giggled and sent it anyway. I laugh at people’s facebook status updates sometimes because they have surely been corrected.

      Like

  5. Love the pictures! I am so much more efficient now that I have an iPhone. Also, I don’t let Addy play on it…she is too little and should be out exploring!!

    Like

  6. Love ColorNotes for just doing sticky notes on various things — lots of apps that are similar. Brightest Flashlight is my choice for a flashlight. And, I also love The Weather Channel’s radar. Under no circumstances should you download Candy Crush Saga!

    Like

Leave a Reply

