Time for planting corn

Farmers everywhere are out in the fields right now.  Those that grow corn and soybeans always start by planting corn, then soybeans.  During harvest, the order is reversed.  Soybeans don’t take nearly as many days to mature.

Having enough days to mature is definitely a concern now.  Last year, everybody was in the field early and finished planting very soon.  This year, corn planting is WAY behind schedule.  The soil was just too wet and cool.  Last Tuesday, on May 7, my husband planted 80 acres of corn and then it began to rain.  It rained on Wednesday and Thursday and then took 2 days to dry out.  We don’t roll on Sundays, so you can imagine the hurry to get going on Monday.

IMG_4977

It wasn’t much of a photo shoot…one click of the camera and into the tractor they went!

On a great day with minimal break-downs, Joe can plant 450 acres.  This means no breakfast, lunch or dinner with the family, but we understand.  It also means not watching your daughter sing and do finger-plays for her preschool graduation.

IMG_4959

I simply cannot believe this little girl is off to kindergarten in the fall.

Right now, there is a 60% chance of rain here tonight and 60% chance on Sunday.  Eek!  One of the most difficult things about farming is that you are at the mercy of the weather.  I can’t imagine trying to be a farmer without trusting that the Lord will care for you and that He always knows your needs.

Speaking of the weather, I was reading a publication called The Farmer (creative, right?)  http://magissues.farmprogress.com/MOR/MR05May13/mor015.pdf and their weatherman is predicting June and July to have lots of rain showers and thunderstorms from Minnesota south to Missouri, and off to the Northeast.  The drought is supposed to show significant improvement in those areas.  In Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan, the temperatures during June-July are supposed to be below average.

Right here in Worthington, Minnesota, the city has imposed a ban on non-essential water use.  This includes watering trees, flowers, and gardens.  No washing out your dog kennel or washing your car in your front drive.  No flower baskets along downtown streets and no landscaping around the new Events Center.

Hopefully, if that weatherman is correct, things can get back to normal for the city residents soon.  Joe would sure like to get that corn seed in the ground first, though:)

P.S.  I just published this blog post and realized that it definitely reads as though my husband is a one-man show.  Which is very far from the truth.  It is just that I capture more photos of him, and he usually is the one in the tractor with the planter!  His dad, along with 3 other dedicated employees, work hard to ‘prepare the way’.  That includes things like picking rock, spraying, digging, and hauling seed.

4 thoughts on “Time for planting corn

  1. Definitely not appreciating the low water table. I am so sad not to see the flowers downtown, but I actually am proud of them for sticking to their standards and NOT doing it. I guess, having a well, we can do whatever we want…but I think I’ll be careful and wise, just the same! I do need to buy some tomato plants and a few flowers, though – haven’t planted a thing yet and yes, it is so late to be saying that! I am hoping that there are plants left in the stores, but I bet there will be because of the watering ban. You’re still planting your garden, aren’t you? Oh, and by the way, I’m ok with cooler temps this summer!

    Like

    • I bought my annual flowers today. I am pretty confident our well won’t run dry, and the reality is that I will use a really minor amount of water to water my flower in comparison to the what my 200 heifers require each day.
      I definitely agree with you about no flowers downtown. A rule is a rule.
      While weeding and mulching around church tonight, some ladies and I had a discussion about watering annuals. One lady said she had eight gallons stored up from her dehumidifier and is confident that she will get enough all summer. I thought that was a great idea for someone on municipal water.

      Like

Leave a Reply

