How do you choose?

I’ve had some events happen in my family in the past week that really made me wonder.  How can one know when she has found the ‘keeper’?  I know a ton of people who just knew the moment their eyes met that they were destined for each other.  I can’t say the same for Farmer Joe and me, but I can say that as soon as I got to know him, the deal was pretty much done in my mind.

100_2766Isn’t he handsome?  Learning about agriculture in Cuba.

However, do you know anyone who fits this analogy?  Who just can’t seem to see the strange choice she is making?  She walks into the produce section at the grocery store and really isn’t sure what she wants.  She stumbles upon the apples, with so many fantastic ones to choose from in a half of a dozen varieties.  Soon enough, she spots a bruised apple and reaches for it.  All the onlookers are staring at her thinking she is way too good to pick that apple.  Nonetheless, she chooses that one — misshapen, bruised, and sour as it is.  WHY IN THE WORLD WOULD SHE DO THAT?  And all too often it isn’t just a once-in-a-lifetime decision.  I just don’t get it.

I am a Christian, so I pray.  Something that always comes up in my conversations with God is the topic of the future spouses of my children.  My oldest, my son, has grown up so quickly and spends so many of his days in school.  There is a pretty good chance that his future wife is already born and being influenced by this world, too.

Image

So I pray for good influences.  That her family will raise her to be the perfect mate for my son.  Is that strange?

Farmer Joe tells me all the time (well, at least once a month) that marrying me was the best decision he has ever made.  That is a nice thing to hear at the end of a tiring day of caring for my little ones.  I never regret our decision to walk the rest of our steps on this earth together.  We are opposites but we are perfect for each other.  I am a pushover; he makes salesmen queasy.  My motto is “good enough”, he is a perfectionist.  The perfect example would be the 200 foot row of soybean stubble bales that he lines up each fall to provide our heifers with a clean, dry place to lay during the wintry months.  It also functions as a wind break for a few months.  It is straight as an arrow; I imagine pilots smile as they fly over our place.  (The photo below does not even begin to do it justice.)  Meanwhile, I just swept the kitchen floor in 20 seconds flat and it works for me.

IMG_3754

3 thoughts on “How do you choose?

  1. Ha! You are a blessed woman. I remember praying for my own spouse starting at about the age of 10 or 11. I think it turned out pretty well! And yes…he was already alive and being influenced by the world at that time…though, to be sure, he hadn’t been alive quite as long as I had. 🙂 Isn’t it lovely the way God matches us up to balance each other out?

    Like

  2. I absolutely LOVE this post Rita! It is very well put! I love hearing stories about you & your family. You are a girl with it all! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

